Dignity for All Students Act (DASA)

  • Dignity for All Students Act (DASA)

    The New York State Dignity for All Students Act (Dignity Act) was signed into law on September 13, 2010 and became effective July 1, 2012.  This legislation amended State Education Law by creating a new Article 2 - Dignity for All Students.  The Starpoint Central School District will not tolerate incidents of bullying, harassment, discrimination, intimidation, or cyberbullying on school property, a school bus and/or at a school function by students and/or school employees, based on the following:  Race, Color, Weight, National Origin, Ethnic Group, Religion, Religious Practice, Disability, Sexual Orientation, Gender (including gender identity and expression), and Sex. 

    Bullying is described as an unwanted, aggressive behavior that involves a real or perceived power imbalance.  The behavior is repeated, or has a potential to be repeated, over time.  Bullying can occur before and after school hours, in a school building, on a playground, on a school bus while a student is traveling to or from school, or on the Internet.  Cyberbullying occurs when harassment or bullying happens through any form of electronic communication.  Harassment is defined as the creation of a hostile environment by conduct or verbal threats, intimidation, or abuse that has or would have the following effect: reasonably and substantially interfering with a student's educational performance, opportunities or benefits or, would reasonably be expected to cause a student to fear for his or her physical safety.  Discrimination is the act of denying rights, benefits, justice, equitable treatment or access to facilities available to all others, to an individual or group of people because of the group, class or category to which that person belongs.

    Starpoint's Dignity Act Coordinators

    Fricano Primary (Grades K-2)

    Adrienne Cohan, School Social Worker, 210-2329, acohan@starpointcsd.org

    Regan Intermediate (Grades 3-5)

    Rose Becerril, School Counselor, 210-2105, rbecerril@starpointcsd.org

    Middle School (Grades 6-8)

    Danielle Alterio, Assistant Principal, 210-2203, dalterio@starpointcsd.org

    Mary Logan, School Psychologist, 210-2376, mlogan@starpointcsd.org

    High School (Grades 9-12)

    Brenda Angelucci, School Social Worker, High School, 210-2107, bangelucci@starpointcsd.org

    Clem Smith, School Counselor, High School, 210-2312, csmith@starpointcsd.org  

    In compliance with Education Law §13(3), these individuals have been thoroughly trained in human relations in the areas of race, color, weight, national origin, ethnic group, religion, religious practice, disability, sexual orientation, gender (which includes a person’s actual or perceived sex, and gender identity and expression), and sex.  If you have been the target of such behaviors listed above or know someone who has, we encourage you to speak to a teacher, principal, or school employee.  You may also contact one of the Dignity Coordinators directly to discussion the situation.  For a copy of our Harassment, Intimidation, or Bullying Incident Form, please click on the link below.

     

Related Files