2011 Alumni Game

  • Fourth Annual Alumni Basketball Game

    Wednesday March 9, 2011



    Our fourth annual Alumni Basketball Game featured 2 exciting games as well as a thrilling 3-point contest.  This year our numbers were down a little, mainly due to some injuries our usual players are dealing with this year.  25 alumni meant more time on the court for the 2 games and some tired players after the game.


    I had some of our older players still showing off their skills.  Team Red with 2 Hall of Famers, Jon Holden and Brian Graham--both 1977 grads, topped Team White with Mike Kramer ('76) 60-43.  Tied at the half, Team Red broke away in the second half to claim victory. 


    Team White was led by Matt Dunn ('04)--12 points, Shawn Latini ('97)--11 points, and Dave Carter ('06) with 10 points.  The winning Team Red was led by Lou Penque ('95) with 17, Brian Graham ('77) and Mike Corbi ('07) split 24 and Captain Jon Holden had 10.


    Game Two was a thriller.  Team Garnet got off to a quick 15 point lead but Jon Plail ('01) regrouped his white squad to trail 48-41 at the half.  Team 3 White continued the comeback in the second half that saw 3 different tie scores.  In the end, some clutch baskets by Team Garnet and going 9 for 11 from the free throw line, let the Garnet Team prevail, 90-88. 


    The White Team was led by Captain Jon Plail's 28, followed by Matt Rankie ('02) with 22, Brendan Reinert ('10) with 19, and Dave Wollaber ('01) added 12 points. 


    The Champion Garnet was led by Mike Ridge ('06), who led all scorers with 31, Shane Canahai ('07) added 24 points, Jason Kroening ('00) came in from Webster, NY to score 21 and Brad Matters ('04) had 16 points.  Each team hit nine 3's during the game. 


    Between games, we had an exciting 3-point championship.  A playoff led to Todd Conklin ('00) against Jon Plail ('01) in the finals.  Each player had 12 shots in 30 seconds.  Todd hit 7 out of his 12 and Jon, shooting second, hit 8 to win this year's trophy. 


    Thanks to all who participated and fans who support our annual event.






Team One--Red
Team Two--White
Team Three--White
Team Four--Garnet
Jon Plail--3 point champion